The most famous building in the picturesque town of Vladimirci in Serbia is the old Konak (Inn) in the center of the town.
Built in 1854 as a building of district authorities, today it is a cultural monument, but also a tourist attraction.
The history of this building begins in 1829, when the great Serbian ruler, Prince Miloš Obrenović, ordered to build it as seat of the district in Vladimirci.
Each household had to donate two golden coins for this building, and it was finally completed in 1854, entirely on the expense of the locals.
From that time, the governor of the district lived in it, and people called it Konak (Inn).
The famous Serbian writer Milovan Glisic personally never came to Vladimicis, but Konak and the then chief of the region Maksim Sarmasevic served him as an inspiration for one of the greatest works in Serbian literature – the Sugar Cube.
Namely, Glišić, a native of Valjevo, found out in the market in his town about the fraud of Sarmašević and a policeman who repeatedly sold the the same sugar cube and cheated peasants.
Today, the Library “Diša Atić” has more than 50,000 books and other valuable cultural values , and it is located in Konak.
In front of the Konak, in the park, there is a sculpture of writer Glišić, made by sculptor Kosta Bogdanović.
The Konak Building is the oldest in the whole region, and since 1976 it has been under the protection of the state.
This article is a part of the project “Seven miracles of Vladimirci”, supported by the Vladimirci Municipality. Positions of the supported media project do not necessarily reflect statements of the organ supporting the project.
(Come to Serbia)